Chakras or Wheels of Life

We all have eight principal centers of life that connect us from our physical body, to our Infinite-Self.  They are called “Chakras,” (pronounced cha-kah-rahs).  On a physical level, they actually control and affect our glands, called the endocrine system.  On a mental level they affect the way we think, and on a level of consciousness, they can take us into the dirt, or into the heavens and beyond the superstrings of this multi-level universe.  Many of us are now opening the doors and discovering, if not experiencing, these connections, which connect us to our True-Self.   So let us take a short tour into the world of chakras.

The word chakra means wheel.  Chakras are like steering wheels, which steer us through life.  If one wheel is out of balance, we may wobble this way or that way out of control.  The 1st center is at the base of our spine called the Root Chakra, and the last center is the 8th chakra that surrounds our bodies, it’s called the Aura or Auric Body.

From the base of our spine, the energy of life called Kundalini, where it is stored, rises up our spine to balance all our chakras and connect us to our Inner-Self.  When this energy is blocked, our chakras get out of balance and the connections to the elements that make us who we are, get out of balance.  From our glands to our health, from how we feel to how we think – it all relates to a balanced or imbalanced chakra.  If you read on, I will give you some very important clues about our chakras.  I will keep it clear and simple, and leave out all the esoteric stuff about deities, animals, yantras, and names difficult to articulate, as these are all just metaphors.

The Chakras are the seven main energy centers in the body. They are located along the Spine, starting at the base and running upwards to the crown of the head. The Chakras are described as “whirling disks of light”, and each Chakra radiates a specific color and energy. As each Chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological and physical issues, the conscious awareness and the balancing of these energy centers lead to well-being.

Lajpat Rai, an eminent Physiologist has conducted extensive study on Chakras and Kundalini Jagran. According to Kundalini Yoga, the potential energy located in the Chakras can be converted into kinetic form either spontaneously or by meditational practices. This phenomenon of conversion of potential energy into kinetic energy has been termed as “Awakening of Kundalini” which leads to self actualization. Kundalini Chakras are claimed to be vortices of energy spinning in circles like transformers. They are said to govern and regulate the flow and dispersion of power (etheric or pranic energy of yoga) in an electrical human infrastructure comprised of an extraordinary circuitry of 72 thousand subtle channels (sukshama prana nadis). Quantitatively, the five chakras on the spine are further claimed to be endowed with the qualities and attributes possessed and manifested by five cosmic elements of earth, water, fire, air and ether respectively. Intensive meditation on the chakras sites at spine and cranium by way of visualization of a given chakra symbolically in terms of a number of petals of a lotus, its colour, sound and other ingredients surcharges the body-mind-consciousness complex at all the five levels. (read more)

Chakra 1: Muladhara Chakra
The first Chakra, Muladhara (root), is located at the base of the spine. Its color is red and its issues are survival, stability, and self-sufficiency.

Chakra 2: Svadhisthana Chakra
The second Chakra, Svadhisthana (sweetness), is located at the lower abdomen (between belly button and pelvic bone). Its color is orange and its issues are sexuality, creativity, relationships and emotions.

Chakra 3: Manipura Chakra
The third Chakra, Manipura (lustrous gem), is located at the solar plexus (between belly button and bottom of rib cage). Its color is yellow and its issues are personal power, self esteem, willfulness and energy.

Chakra 4: Anahata Chakra
The fourth Chakra, Anahata (not struck), is located at the heart (center of the chest). Its color is green and its issues are love, compassion, acceptance, and trust.

Chakra 5: Vishuddha Chakra
The fifth Chakra, Vissudha (purification), is located at the throat. Its color is bright blue and its issues are communication, inspiration, expression, and faith.

Chakra 6: Ajna Chakra
The sixth Chakra, Ajna (to perceive), is located between the eyebrows, just above the bridge of the nose. Its color is indigo blue and its issues are psychic, emotional and mental intelligence, and intuition.

Chakra 7: Sahasrara Chakra
The seventh Chakra, Sahasrara (thousand petaled), is located at the crown (top) of the head. Its color is white or violet and its issues are devotion, inspiration, selflessness, and spiritual understanding.

Taking the Kundalini energy up from the Muladhara Chakra to the Sahasrara Chakra is the main goal of Kundalini Yoga. They use different Yoga Techniques in order to awaken the Kundalini (serpent energy) which is resting in the Muladhara Chakra and make it flow from the base of the spine to the top of the head. Once Kundalini reaches its final destination, the Sahasrara Chakra, you will be in the knowledge space or Chidakasa



Add yours →

  1. Thanks for this informative post. Yoga quite certainly has evolved a lot these days due to its effectiveness. It has certainly proved to be a boon for numerous of us.

  2. Very useful information.. keep sharing

  3. Hi,
    Nice to see someone writing clearly and simply about yoga in an uncomplicated, concise way.
    I’ve also written an article about my personal experience of Chakras and Kundalini energy:
    Hope you’ll take the time to read and leave a comment.

  4. diwanshu kumar dubey January 24, 2014 — 2:49 pm


  5. can any one awake his kundlini with help of you if yes I am intrested to do same I want to awake my kundlini ,after it what is its effect on body , is it one kind of SIDHHI plsz inform me I am eger to know about this ,Is your any center of it in mumbai(INDIA) .Thanking you GANESH

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: